Review: Origins compared to Sunday Riley night skin care routine

Standard

I am a skincare product junkie. I have a couple tried and true favorites, but generally I switch things up when I run out of something. I have just finished the Origins night cream after several months of use. I was using this in conjunction with the toner and the night oil. The toner ran out first, which makes sense as this isn’t a night specific product so I was using it morning and night. Then the Night-A-Mins Renewal Cream ran out, and I still have some Night-A-Mins Renewal Refining Oil left.

I liked all of these products. The scents are lightly citruses, but nothing too intense. I enjoyed the consistency of the cream — it was dense. It reminded me of a cloud cream. You could tell when you put it on that this is for night and should be absorbed into the skin over hours. When I woke up there was no trace of residue left and it did in fact absorb nicely throughout the night. The face oil is light and absorbs pretty quickly. I assume this is because it is designed to be followed by the thicker cream. Part of me thinks that for $44 the oil isn’t worth it. The cream alone I think would probably do its job well. The toner was nice, but nothing outstanding. For a $25 price tag though I think it performed well and have no complaints.

The Night-A-Mins oil and creme combined come to $88, which isn’t anything to snicker at. While I do feel like it maintained my skin well I didn’t see any improvements. The fine lines I have are still there, my outbreaks came at about the same frequency, the texture of my skin seemed about the same. I am only in my mid twenties so my skin care is aimed to prevent signs of aging, and certainly my skin didn’t get worse. I also have relatively sensitive skin and find that many products are irritating and none of the Origins products bothered my skin at all, so thats a plus! However, for $88 there were no miracles.

Prior to this I was using the Sunday Riley Luna Sleeping Oil, and while that is even more expensive at $105 I did feel like my skin was more plump, more radiant, and just had a glow about it when I woke up. It does have quite an odd smell, very planty, but its not so strong that I couldn’t use it. I intended to use this in conjunction with Good Genes, but my skin is so sensitive that Good Genes made my skin pretty dry/flaky/red so I couldn’t use it more than a couple times a week. I bought the Luna oil and the Good Genes treatment in a set, where they were each half size but the set was only $78 (it’s $85 now; a $105 value) at Sephora, so keep an eye out for the value sets if you’re interested in Sunday Riley.

Results for these things are so subjective, but I will say I don’t have anything especially lovely to say about my skin after using the Origins routine. I certainly have nothing bad to say, but I probably won’t be repurchasing. While I did really enjoy the Sunday Riley line I’d like to see if I can achieve these results for less money.

On to the next product adventure!

One thought on “Review: Origins compared to Sunday Riley night skin care routine

Leave a Reply

